My exchange with Avram Chomsky

In recent times, I asked Avram (“Ave” for short):

Greetings, Professor Avram Chomsky. I am finding myself wondering: how does losing one’s ability in, say, a second-language affect (if at all), one’s memories of conversations one had in that language? Perhaps in your journeys in linguistics you have not discovered this answer, but I did not know who else to ask.

Nikolay Sokolov
Blog: https://sciencedefeated.wordpress.com/

He replied:

Interesting question, but I’ve never seen any study of it.

This shows that my investigations have vexed even the greatest minds of our times and places! I try not to boast on this blog, but sometimes the going gets hard! I think you’d do the same!

3 thoughts on “My exchange with Avram Chomsky

  1. “How people themselves perceive what they are doing is not a question that interests me,” said Ave to me just yesterday over some port and sausages. “I mean, there are very few people who are going to look into the mirror and say, ‘That person I see is a savage monster’; instead, they make up some construction that justifies what they do.”
    Food for thought, eh?

  2. I’m not sure “vexed” is the right word, but either way, it seems you’ve asked someone whose specialty is linguistics a question on memory, and he responded saying that no one has tested that yet. I suppose it’s impressive you thought of a question that hadn’t occurred to him yet.

Type your comment(s) into the computer screen

